Friday, January 24, 2014

Review: Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)


Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)Author: Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited, #1
Published: January 28th 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Hardcover, 384 pages
Source: Publisher for review
Buy: The Book Depository

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.
Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.
The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.
Considering my horrid experience with Firelight, Sophie Jordan’s YA paranormal project, I started Uninvited a bit wearily, honestly not expecting much. And yet, not even 50 pages in, I found myself wound so tightly I could barely breathe.

Jordan did an excellent job of building this mistrustful, terrified society. Parents turning on their children, boyfriends turning on their girlfriends, best friends turning on each other, for no reason other than two recessive genes combined. Fear and mass hysteria are worst enemies of mankind, and combined with the financial interests of some huge company, they make the most dangerous thing in the world.

The horrible injustice of it all burned my throat as I struggled to understand how an entire nation could become so close-minded and prejudiced in such a short period of time. How does one go from ‘innocent until proven guilty’ to ‘guilty simply for having the so called kill gene’? Are we really that easily manipulated? I’m afraid the answer to that question came to me just a bit too quickly, and it wasn’t one I wanted to believe.

Ostracized by her friends and completely abandoned by her formerly loving family, Davy suddenly finds herself completely alone in a world unknown. The rules she lived by for the first 17 years of her life no longer apply. One minute she is a former child prodigy, a well-loved and well-cared for girl, already accepted to Julliard, girlfriend of the most desirable boy in school, with her life all planned out – the next, she is no one, a person with no friends, no family, no name and no rights. She is fair game to every bully and predator out there, and the law is never on her side.

At the beginning, the author took a great risk by making Davy just as prejudiced as her peers, just as ready to judge and turn her back on someone without bothering to find out the first thing about them. She discriminated even while being discriminated against. However, the worse her situation got, the more she realized how unimportant outward signs of violence – forced upon those like her by the government – really are. Little by little, Davy changed the frame through which she viewed the world, and built herself into the person she needed to be to survive.

The strong philosophical undertones, the never-ending nature vs. nurture discussion, make Uninvited a much better book. This isn’t a story you’ll breeze through. If you pay enough attention, it will force you to consider things you’d rather not think about.

Thought-provoking and deeply disturbing, Uninvited is a perfect read for those who enjoy their dystopias with a slightly more realistic edge.

A copy of this book was kindly provided by the publisher for review purposes. No considerations, monetary or otherwise, have influenced the opinions expressed in this review.



26 comments:

  1. Yeah I really had no intention of picking this one up after all the things I heard about Firelight but I really kinda love the sound of this one. Really great review, you totally sold me. I'll definitely be picking this one up.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really enjoyed this one for the exact same reasons you did! I really loved all the "philosophical undertones," as you put it and they're definitely what made the book stand out to me. It could've so easily been topical and forgettable, but that's what made it. Great, great review!!

    Rachel @ Paper Cuts

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the review! I'm excited about this book, though I thought it could wind up being a generic dystopian. Glad that it sounds like something more!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow, what a fantastic review, Maja! Thank you for making me even happier than I preordered this one!
    I'm a lover of all things dystopian but I think something like this is what I need to read next, and seeing that you loved it, makes me even more sure I will!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds heavy, Maja. I'm interested to see how it would make me choose a position when backed into a corner.

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oooh. You make this book sound incredibly compelling! I really like how you talk about the MC's own mindset changing as she journeys through the novel. I'm also up for a good nature vs. nurture debate. I need to read this soon!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm so glad you enjoyed this one, Maja. For me, it wasn't thought-provoking enough - I guess I need something as extreme as Ryan's Skychasers Trilogy for that - but I did enjoy this installment quite a bit. I'll be reading the sequel for sure, which is always a good sign, and I'm curious to see where Jordan takes these characters. Lovely review, my friend!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awesome review! I cannot wait to read this! Sounds like a book right up my alley!

    ReplyDelete
  9. This story's premise reminds me of that Tom Cruise movie Minority Report. I did love that movie, but this seems like it has a harder edge to it. This poor girl! Wonderful review, Maja! :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sadly, I can see things like this happening. This idea, this plotline definitely skirts the edge of reality. While individuals might be reasonable and more open-minded, groups of humans can be stupid, petty and small-minded.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Yes!! So happy to read this review and I agree that it is quite scary to really see how this one day could all play out. I think that is what I loved most about it, the realism and what if about it all.

    Awesome review Maja!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I have to be honest and say that initially I had zero interest in this one and thought it was your ordinary, banal dystopian but your fantastic review makes me what to take a second look at this one. I'll be sure to check it out if I can find it in my library.

    ReplyDelete
  13. "However, the worse her situation got, the more she realized how unimportant outward signs of violence – forced upon those like her by the government – really are. Little by little, Davy changed the frame through which she viewed the world, and built herself into the person she needed to be to survive."

    YES MAJA! That is one of the things I loved most about this book. We got to see the kill gene from both sides through Davy's eyes, and it was fascinating to see her grow and change and dare to question. I was such a huge fan of this book and found the world to be utterly terrifying in the way things that could possibly happen often are (in terms of society's fear of the gene). I cannot wait for book two! Stunning review my friend:)

    ReplyDelete
  14. There were parts of this story that were so terrifying. It was a great read!

    Kate @ Ex Libris

    ReplyDelete
  15. I really enjoyed this book, I think a lot of it is a bit psychological, but maybe I am reading too much into it. Either way, the fiction behind it was great.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Oh now this one actually sounds better than I expected it to be. Beside being unique and interesting I love to hear that the main character changed through the book - I love to see that process. Great review, Maja :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. OOoh nice review! I actually enjoyed Firelight (please don't hate me! ;) ). I am much more paranormal reader than I am dystopians, but I have been venturing into dystopians lately and this one does sound pretty intriguing! I like the debate it brings up. A book that gets your mind really reeling sounds like a great read! Have heard lots of good things on this one so I am eager to read it soon! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  18. My review goes up on this on Monday. I was disappointed though that the nature vs. nurture was just hinted at like you mentioned undertones. I think that is such an impactful part of the story that the author should have discussed. THe whole gene thing was shaky but all in all a very thought provoking read. I still can't figure out what the deal is with the cover.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I've seen mixed reviews for the plot and characters, but they all (and even here) seem to agree that the world has a realistic edge to it that makes this book so creepy and intriguing. Oh I do want to read it for that. I love how you describe all the philosophies they deal with and so that makes it a book for me. I do want to read this even more now!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I'm so glad you approve of this book Maja since the reviews I have seen are pretty mixed. Now that you speak so highly about it, I think I might give a try after all. The premise is definitely interesting and I love a strong female MC :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. I've been seeing a lot of good reviews for this so I'm very curious about it. It sounds very thought provoking, maybe TOO much. I already lie in bed and think about all the horrible things going on in the world and the stupidity of so many people. I think this might be too easily imagined. I know it's a must read though so I'll be watching for it!

    ReplyDelete
  22. Oh, I'm glad to see you enjoyed this so much! I've read mixed-to-positive things about this, but was unable to fully get into it myself. Hopefully I can get into it upon a second start! But I'm glad to see that the author made Davy change, since her attitude was something I took issue with in the beginning.

    ReplyDelete
  23. I confess that I didn't see it was the author of Firelight... but I know Vanessa had a really mixed feelings about it. The society and the world seems really interesting, I really like the ideas of the genes, I don't think I've read something like that so it must be nice to have a different read. I'm also really curious of Davy now. Thanks for your review!

    ReplyDelete
  24. I totally agree with everything you said there, Maja! This was certainly a thought provoking read, can't wait to see what she has in store for us next!

    Brilliant reivew, hun! <33

    ReplyDelete
  25. I didn't like Firelight either, Maja, so I've been waiting for the reviews for this one to come in before I decide to give it a shot. The premise of this one seemed really interesting so I'm glad the author was able to make the novel thought-provoking for you. I may give this one a try after all.

    ReplyDelete
  26. Lovely review Maja, this was creepy and thought provoking. I am anxious to see how this develops.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I really appreciate it and if you're a fellow blogger, I'll do my best to visit your blog and return the favor as soon as possible.
Unfortunately, this is now an award and tag free blog, but I do thank you for your consideration.