Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Review: Rebel (Reboot, #2)


Rebel (Reboot, #2)Author: Amy Tintera
Series: Reboot, #2
Published: May 13th 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Hardcover, 352 pgs
Source: Publisher for review
Buy: The Book Depository


The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can't-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.
After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn't what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren's instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he's underestimated Wren and Callum.
The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: long live Amy Tintera! If you enjoyed her debut last year, you are going to love the sequel. Rebel is absolutely thrilling: the rapid pacing and impressive character development are just two of the things that make Tintera’s sophomore novel an absolute success.

Rebel is unputdownable from start to finish: strong plot, moral dilemmas and the wonderfully mature romance all perfectly entwined to create a breathlessly exciting read. While Reboot was excellent in so many ways that are difficult to repeat, Rebel has its advantages too: it happens, for one, in an already established, strongly built world, which allows for excellent character growth and gives us time to examine the moral and psychological repercussions of Wren’s life before Callum. At the same time, Tintera neatly takes Callum off his throne of non-violent sainthood and gives him time to open his eyes and adjust his idealistic nature and his actual circumstances.

There was never any reason to doubt Wren and Callum’s feelings for each other (though Wren’s feelings in general were questionable for a time), but it was clear from the start that theirs was not a relationship of equals. In the attempt to hold on to his humanity, Callum was always perfectly happy to keep his hands and conscience clean and leave all the decisions and the necessary violence to Wren. This lack of balance wasn’t as obvious in Reboot, when Callum’s aforementioned humanity was essential for waking Wren up. In Rebel, however, their different ways of thinking and Callum’s readiness to step aside and allow Wren to handle things become a serious problem.

However, fear not: this rift between them isn’t unnecessarily dramatic or unrealistic. Quite the contrary, Tintera allows them to find their balance slowly, in a way that becomes relevant not only to their relationship, but to the overall plot as well. While they were running for their lives, there simply wasn’t time to note all the disparities between them, but in Rebel, they slowly work their way around them.

That’s not to say that Rebel is a slow book. It is, perhaps, even more tense than Reboot and there’s plenty of action to keep everyone happy. No middle book syndrome for Amy Tintera; I doubt she knows the meaning of those words.
There’s really not much to say except brava, Ms. Tintera. My hat’s off to you.

A copy of this book was kindly provided by the publisher for review purposes. No considerations, monetary or otherwise, have influenced the opinions expressed in this review.


30 comments:

  1. I've been reading so many glowing reviews of the sequel that, despite the fact that this series isn't a typical one I'd gravitate towards or enjoy, I'm definitely considering it. Especially as this avoids MBS and contains an equal relationship to boot. Thanks for putting this back on my radar, Maja, and beautiful review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay! I couldn't agree with you more. Because of this duology I will read whatever Tintera comes out with next without batting an eye.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I can't wait to get this book next week!!!! I loved loved loved Reboot. I'm so glad Rebel is getting such great reviews!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh you have convinced me to pick up and start my copy of Reboot. Love the sound of the world and thrilled book two is so strong

    ReplyDelete
  5. ^^^^^Me too!^^^^^ I just got it like last week, I think, and I really hadn't planned on getting to it anytime soon, but now--definitely ;) Great review, Maja!

    Jessica @ Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm really excited to learn that this book was a strong follow-up to Reboot - I was really hoping for this. :D

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ooh, yay! I really did like Reboot, just because it was so different and sucked me in big-time. I can see how their relationship wouldn't be exactly equal, because Callum is still so much more human than Wren will ever be again.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I liked Reboot but haven't seen any reviews for this one it yet so I'm glad you found it to be a strong sequel. I'm most interested in seeing how Wren and Callum's relationship becomes more equal. Looking forward to reading this one!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm so happy to hear that you loved this second installment as much as the first one, Maja. I honestly can't remember what I thought of the first book for some reason, although I do know I read it. I might have to go re-read book 1 again before I attempt to read this second installment.I love some good action-packed scenes, so I'm probably going to wind up very happy with this book.
    Lovely review, Maja!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I was really absorbed in this story and I enjoyed their romance. I thought they completed each other perfectly and I love seeing glimpses of a softer Wren :) Fantastic ending!

    ReplyDelete
  11. That's a very high rating indeed! I'm so glad to hear there's no middle book syndrome here. I have to admit, I wasn't mad about the first book, but I still enjoyed it a lot overall, and hopefully plan to pick up the sequel soon. You've made me a lot more excited about it now, Maja. Fantastic review as always!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I loved the first book and I have a copy of this making eyes at me from my TBR pile. I can see I need to get on it asap! I'm so happy to hear this is an intense book with satisfying action and relationship evolution between Callum and Wren. Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I must go check book 1 cos I do not remember it

    ReplyDelete
  14. I just got around to reading my copy of Reboot from last year, and I have Rebel scheduled next week so I am diving in soon. Glad to hear that this series continues to excel. I am interested to see where Callum's and Wren's relationship goes, sounds like there are a few stumbles in this book.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I really had mixed feelings when it came to Reboot last year, mainly because of the romance aspect, but to see you enjoying this sequel even more has given me high hopes that I will too. It sounds like Tintera definitely ups the pace in this book too, I for one can't wait to start my copy! Fab review Maja!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Great review! I haven't heard of these books until recently, but now I will have to check them out.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Great review! I am excited about these books :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. I remember checking out Reboot when it came out and finding it interesting. I really should get on to this duology! Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Wow! I so need to get on the first one if the second one is this good! I'm so glad that the rift wasn't just put in there for dramatic reasons, but had good solid reasons of their own. It would also make sense b/c it wasn't equals. Oh you have me curious!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I wanted to read the first book in this series because of your review for it. But somehow I never have time. I need to fix that. I'm so glad that this one was so good and that it was not suffering the sequel syndrome. Great review, Maja :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. I just finished and really enjoyed this too, and agree and loved that it didn't have second book syndrome, it skipped over all that and ended for us now

    ReplyDelete
  22. I really love fast paced books, I own book 1 just really need to get to it. I like duologies.

    ReplyDelete
  23. This review makes me VERY happy. I am reading this sometime later in the future when I get a copy off the publisher and I am so excited to read the awesomeness that Tintera has. Sounds promising.

    Brilliant review, Maja! <33

    ReplyDelete
  24. I haven't read the first book but I think I have it. Your review has me anxious to fit it in!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I have this series on my wishlist since last year, but I didn't want to start it without sequel. I am glad to hear that it didn't disappoint.

    ReplyDelete
  26. YES!! I'm so happy to hear you loved this one! I cannot wait for my preorder to download into my Kindle already!
    Thank you for a fantastic and always honest review, Maja!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Oh no, there's already a sequel and I haven't read Reboot - must do that asap! Glad you enjoyed this follow up, Maja

    Mands @ The Bookish Manicurist

    ReplyDelete
  28. I still haven't finished the first book. I just couldn't get into it. I think I'll try again .... after some time. I skimmed this review but I liked it. Nice to see it doesn't suffer from middle book syndrome :)

    ReplyDelete
  29. I haven't started this series yet, but it sounds really good!

    ReplyDelete
  30. Oooo, now if I could find time I'll have to add this series to the list. :) Thank you!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by and commenting. If you're a fellow blogger, I'll visit and return the favor as soon as possible. If your're using Google+ to comment, please make sure that your blog link is clearly visible on your profile.

Unfortunately, this is now an award and tag free blog, but I do thank you for your consideration.